Scotch Around the Clock – Why The Macallan?

13 Aug

House hunting in the Washington, DC, area is nasty. Either you feel like you are paying too much for too little, or you are paying just the right amount but you are living waaaaay too far away from anything to enjoy where you live. Currently, I live in a mediocre condo in an area of Arlington, VA, known as Clarendon. The area rules. My condo does not.

So after an evening after work, my wife, Sara F., and I go house hunting. While house hunting, my friend Brian L. texted me regarding a dram of The Macallan 12-year he decided to partake in. He decided the 18-year version just was not worth the extra cash and guilt. I agree whole heartedly. The 18-year version is nice, but hardly worth the large amount of cash for the slight increase in enjoyment.
After our evening of stress and big decisions, Sara and I decided we need a drink. We stopped in at the Eat Bar (attached to Tallula’s). I immediately check out the single-malt selection behind the bar and I am pleased to note that although they have only five to six bottles, they consist of Laphroiag 10-year, Lagavulin 16-year, Talisker 10-year, Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban, a Balvenie (my eyes were not good enough to spot the type/age and I really did not care enough to ask), and Macallan 12-year.
Of the aforementioned bottles, my choice was The Macallan 12-year. Not because it was a favorite, but mainly because I had not had it in a while and maybe my “mediocre” personal rating was not fair to a single-malt that is highly regarded among scotch drinking freaks.
Upon first smelling, I was quite pleased. The oaky demeanor was quite pleasing to the nose and, actually, quite pleasing to the senses. Before tonight, I do not think that I was in the r
ight frame of mind to really grasp how good the drink was. The taste was medium bodied and extremely smooth. The finish was quite subtle and very satisfying.
Maybe I was wrong. The Macallan 12-year is quite decent. I would be rather interested to taste the cask strength version. Who knows, maybe the trip to Park Avenue Liquors shop will take me to an affordable version of The Macallan.
Affordable? Not likely. The Macallan prices tend to be outrageous for how common it is.

As soon as I got home, I went to straight to my bar and poured a small follow-up glass of Lagavulin 16-year. Sometimes you forget how much love a bottle until you have that special glass. If you enjoy smokey scotch whisky and still do not have Lagavulin 16-year, you have not had that which all others are compared. Go to Pearson’s right now and grab a bottle. Their price destroys all others for that bottle ($69.99, usually $90+)
2 Responses to “Scotch Around the Clock – Why The Macallan?”

  1. Sara T August 13, 2009 at 3:05 am #

    Um… what does the F stand for in Sara F. exactly?

  2. Brian August 17, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    Sara Fitzgerald… his OTHER wife… duh!

Leave a Reply

