The War Chest Article

8 Sep
It saddens me to see that the last time I posted was during my work peek time of year, so I am going to vow to make up for it with a few rapid fire postings…
Since I am currently at work, however, I am going to direct you to one of the best articles I have seen on What Does John Know? The article is called “What’s in Your War Chest?” The premise is that you should have varying types of whiskies on hand for varying levels of drinking.
  1. Special occasions
  2. Every day whisky
  3. Unwanted guest whisky
  4. Etc.
This is a very awesome read! Check it out.
Posts to come soon, I promise!
Special thanks to Brian for sending the me article link!
Coming soon! My 2nd trip to New York City (I actually made it to Park Avenue Liquor Store!) and my advice to a confused local bar that wanted to charge me a bit much for a bit too little.
2 Responses to “The War Chest Article”

  1. Brian September 23, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    So…. what's in your war chest?I'd say:1. Special Occasions – Laphroaig 18, HP 21, PC6, Uigedail2. Every Day (Table) Whisky – Laphroaig Quarter Cask, Ardbeg 103. Guest Whisky – Laphroaig 104. Unwanted Guest Whisky – Johnny Walker Black, DeWar's

  2. B. Carr September 24, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    Excellent choices! I particularly agree with the PC6 assignment. I would recommend adding a nice highland or lowland with less smoke for the guests who do may not be keen on the elaborate tastes from Islay. The only thing I disagree with is the placement of the Johnnie Walker Black! Get yourself a bottle of Johnnie Walker Red. But the Black on a couple of ice cubes and it is pretty nice for any occasion.My war chest? 1. Special occasion – Port Ellen – 23-year (Providence), PC6, PC7, or Octomore 2. Relaxing after work – Longrow C.V., Lagavulin 16-year, Clynelish 14yr 3a. Guest Whisky (appreciative/curious) – Any! 3b. Guest Whisky (indiscriminate) – Glenmorangie 10-year, Dalwhinnie 15-year 4. Unwanted Guest Whisky – Unfortunately, it would be the Johnnie Walker Black since that's the only simple blend I have on hand!

Leave a Reply

