Why I Drink Single Malt Whisky

14 Sep

It seems like every time I whip out a single-malt, someone is bound to ask one of two questions:

  1. “Which single-malt is your favorite?”
  2. “Why are you so obsessed with single malt scotch whisky?”
In order to pick my favorite whisky, you would you have to catch me on a certain night and ask me then. It depends on my mood at that moment. It is almost easier to choose which ones I don’t like, which are few and far between.
Basically–for me–that question does not have an answer. I wish I could choose one, but the Ardbeg Uigeadail and the Talisker 25-year both have qualities that I covet. Constantly. Not in the alcoholic way. Yikes! What? Look over there.
The second question above is a bit more easy.
I really enjoy the taste, sure. The nosing really super fun for me seeing that I have a beak-like nose with the scent-sensing of a grizzly bear (though I wish I could just discern the “nuttiness” that every scotch whisky reviewer seems to note… what freakin’ nuts are you smelling?!?). Is there a bit of a pretentiousness to it? You bet.
My obsessiveness towards whisky is something I never expected:

That’s Luke (I’ll use a pseudonym so no one gets hurt or offended). You are witnessing his first taste of Ardbeg 10-year out of my stash. Needless to say, he enjoyed it quite a bit. Our other newb in at the class, Scott, sent me a text message about how he bought his first bottle, the Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban the day after our get together. Awesome.
I love sharing my obsession with others for some unknown reason. Converting others into enjoying whisky and creating new whisky drinkin’ buddies has become an absolutely passion.
Whisky.
Is.
Good.
Drink it.
Scotchfinder out.
Leave a Reply

