Ardbeg Rollercoaster!

22 Nov

Tim at Addy Bassin’s MacArthur Beverages has done it again. This is probably the craziest moment in my Scotch fanboyism. Here it is:

Ardbeg Rollercoaster!

Ardbeg Rollercoaster (read the review)! My friend and I have been having searching for this little elusive bottle of Ardbeg lore for quite some time now. I asked Tim if he had anything hidden in the stock room of interest. He disappeared for a good 5-10 minutes. Just as my friend and I were about to take off with a bottle of Talisker, Longrow CV, and a six pack of Dogfish Head 60-minute IPA, he pops out towards in an obvious hurry (he has a special customer that trumps the Scotch Finder he has to tend to ASAP). He says, “I couldn’t find anything but this bottle of….”

*YOINK*
It took me about .05 seconds to recognize the Rollercoaster icon I have seen a buhgillion times online via Ebay and online English whisk(e)y buying sites that will not ship to the U.S. I snapped that bottle out of his hand with an accompanying high-pitched squeal. Tim was completely surprised at my excitement because he probably had several bottles on hand at one point, but also looked a little remorseful after the manner in which I apprehended it from him. You can see in the picture that Leone is covering up the “on sale” price tag… you don’t want to know what it says.
If you have ever wanted this bottle and cannot find one, rest assured. It tastes much like an Ardbeg. The Ardbeg Rollercoaster is very good but it is not as amazing as the Ardbeg Uigeadail.
I held the bottle for a solid 10 minutes before succumbing to my friend’s pouty eyes. You can now find it at his home bar (or hidden in a locked vault nearby).
2 Responses to “Ardbeg Rollercoaster!”

  1. Frank January 4, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    since I owe you on the Ardbeg (I've basically copies your "must have" post), you should know that Moco stores have the Uigeadail in quantities right now for only $54. I bought some and, well, wow. I may buy out my nearest store.

  2. B. Carr January 4, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Great tip!

Leave a Reply

